Catfish "gasping" a lot for air. Normal? Because they stopped now.

All posts regarding the care and breeding of catfishes from other parts of the world (North America, Europe and Australia). If you don't know where your catfish is from, post a query in the identification category.
SuperNaeni
Location 1: Norway
Location 2: Buskerud

Catfish "gasping" a lot for air. Normal? Because they stopped now.

Post by SuperNaeni »

Ok, this is probably the stupidest question of the day, but i am still pretty new in the aquarium world. I've got some rtcxtsn and a rtc and a tsn. They have all kind of gasped their entire 4-5 month life. They have constantly opened and closed their mouths in a rythmic fasion. And even though he's not a catfish, my oscar has as well. A couple of days ago, i put in an air pump and we now have a good stream of air bubbles into the tank. And today, all of a sudden, they have all stopped this rythmic "gasping". Now all of them have their mouths completely shut all the time and they seem much calmer.

My question is: did i torture them before with oxygen-low water? Or is it normal that they are sort of gasping all the time and something is wrong with them all now?

I had no experience with catfish before these, so i just thought it was normal that they were doing this gasping thing all the time. My two filter pumps were completely submerged, so no air bubbles has come from them before.
Bas Pels
My images: 1
My cats species list: 28 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 7
Location 1: the Netherlands
Location 2: Nijmegen the Netherlands
Interests: Central American and Uruguayan fishes

Re: Catfish "gasping" a lot for air. Normal? Because they stopped now.

Post by Bas Pels »

Although I think torturing is quite a strong word, the water did obviously contain too little oxygen, and now it looks like the oxygen is sufficient.
cats have whiskers
Viktor Jarikov
My images: 11
My cats species list: 25 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 4
Location 1: Naples, FL
Location 2: USA