Plywood tanks.

Post pictures of your beloved catfish aquaria here. Also good for pictures of your (cat)fish rooms or equipment discussions. If you are posting pictures of identified catfish, please do so in the appropriate husbandry and reproduction forum above.
johnnyev
Location 2: Suffolk, England.

Plywood tanks.

Post by johnnyev »

I'm cosidering building a 7x3x2 plywood tank, rather than buying a glass one. One, because i work in the building trade & can get nearly all the ply, timber & fixings very cheap , if not for free, & two, because it would be much lighter to move. All i'd have to buy would be the glass & some kind of epoxy paint to make it water proof. Anyone know of a product available here in the uk? Have contacted a fibre glassing company in the uk, which are stockist's of West Systems, which all the sites with plywood tank builds in the states seem to use. But they state that they cannot gaurantee it's safe for aquarium use. I'm really struggling to find anything. All the pond paints available in the uk, are only suitable for applying to concrete.
Bas Pels
My images: 1
My cats species list: 28 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 7
Location 1: the Netherlands
Location 2: Nijmegen the Netherlands
Interests: Central American and Uruguayan fishes

Re: Plywood tanks.

Post by Bas Pels »

I have been coating a set of concrete tanks in April 2007, the warmes April ever.

The coating both isolates the water and fishes from the concrete and is after curing non tocic. I think it adheres on wood as well

But epoxy & fibre glass is also a good solution. Or use rubber paint. It's expensive, but said to do the work and that's what counts
cats have whiskers
johnnyev

Post by johnnyev »

Cheers Bas.
Got any trade names for the paints at all?
Viktor Jarikov
My images: 11
My cats species list: 25 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 4
Location 1: Naples, FL
Location 2: USA

Post by Viktor Jarikov »

Thebiggerthebetter
fish-story.com
Bas Pels

Post by Bas Pels »

Thank you, Victor