Need help with feeding ideas

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
technogeek
My cats species list: 9 (i:4, k:0)
My aquaria list: 7 (i:1)
Location 2: Chicago, IL

Need help with feeding ideas

Post by technogeek »

Please help me! I am relatively new to aquariums and am in love with plecos. I am worried that my plecos aren't eating (because they are nocturnal) and it has been leading to over feeding. Can you please suggest tips and tricks on ways I can verify a pleco is eating and what to feed the plecos I have?

In 15 Gallon (1 medium piece of driftwood):
Albino Bristlenose Pleco - L144a - Ancistrus temminckii (or cirrhosus?)

In 55 Gallon (1 medium piece of driftwood and 2 large):
Spotted Rubbernose Pleco - L187a - Chaetostoma milesi
Red Clown Pleco - L162- Panaque maccus

Foods I have tried:
Hikari Seaweed Extreme - bristlenose and rubbernose like, but other fish eat them up
Hikari Algae Wafers - only the mollies eat these to my knowledge, no plecos
Wardley Shrimp Pellets - only the bristlenose likes these

Please help! I just got the Clown Pleco and I don't think she is doing very good. I know the water is fine as I test it regularly.
pleco_breeder
My articles: 2
My cats species list: 17 (i:0, k:0)
Location 1: Arizona
Interests: breeding plecos and corys

Re: Need help with feeding ideas

Post by pleco_breeder »

Your clown has the ability to eat wood, so is in a good tank. They do eat other things, but there's a simple solution to all the feeding issues and several ways to approach it.

The easiest is to feed the plecos about 30 minutes after the lights go out. This only requires a small amount of food, so overfeeding is still possible.

Another is to feed a small portion of fresh vegetables to the tank. I regularly sink a small piece of zucchini with a plant weight in several of my tanks. Other fish may pick at it, but don't seem to have the ability to eat as much of it as the plecos.