Help with feeding peppermint fry.

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
1Opsophagos
My cats species list: 7 (i:0, k:0)
Location 1: Cairns
Location 2: Queensland

Help with feeding peppermint fry.

Post by 1Opsophagos »

Hi everyone, very new to the Internet and I have never posted in a forum before so please be patient.
However i have had over 25 years experience in keeping fish, all useless to me at this point in time. I have previously had a massive obsession with lake Tanganyika......but recently have shifted my obsession to The Peppermint.
I picked up a group of 6 about 2 to 3cm. Amazing black with the crystal blue/white spots and trailing edges. It had begun!
After a difficult search i had found myself 3 amazing mature peppermints.
One male and 2 female.
The set up.
4 x 60l tanks in a tier.
2 up top 2 down low and 60l sump. First black/soft water setup i had ever done, besides some native Aussi stuff.
So the top 2 tanks have fair lighting and are feed by 1200lph powerhead lifting approx 2m. kinda low for my liking but anyway i placed the trio in the top LH tank with few plants on wood a slate cave box i made with 3 caves he could chose from. No gravel. For 2 months he would go from one cave to the other back and fourth and never settle down utill a got a D cave from lfs and he picked that.
I left the slate box in the tank for the female's. A couple of months went by and i was starting to doubt my abilities, but suspected it was just to HOT 29-30deg Celsius untill a recent tropical cyclone Debbie started to approach the coast. I thought this is all it will take. I opened the valves on the ibc tanks to fill em up with rain water and waited it out with the backup generator ready, fortunately we didn't need it because she hit the coast just south of us. but it had the same effect, cooled the tanks down to 27 and did a 30% rain water change and the next night he had a ball of eggs fanning away.
I did tests straight up.