Sexing Hemiodontichtys acipensirus + Spawn 5 months later

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Thomas1209
Location 1: Netherlands
Location 2: Noord-brabant

Sexing Hemiodontichtys acipensirus + Spawn 5 months later

Post by Thomas1209 »

Hello my fellow catfish freaks,

I have always been into whiptails an recently my boss asked if I knew any cool species to add to the collection. I work as a saturday employee in a fish store here in Holland. I told her that hemiodontictys acipensirus and some more whiptails were cool looking fish. I never imagined that she would be able to get her hands on those, but she did. She got in 5 fish. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw them, such a weird fish! I quickly checked their undersides to see if I could notice any sexual differences, but one fish was dead already. It was the biggest fish and I think he had the biggest lips, also he was a lot darker than the other specimen(might have been due to his dead).
Unfortunately They died or sold too quick before I could get my hands on them.
I called one of the better shops and they had 4 specimen left, and I reserved a male and a female. They are wild caught fish from their own import. Last saturday I went to the shop to pick them up. The employee caught all 4 of them and put them in seperate containers. 2 of the fish had a slightly thickened area around their hips, and had small lips so I chose the thickest fish. There was 1 fish who was more slender and seemed to have bigger/thicker lips. That would be the ''male'' in our eyes.

Since the sexual differences are really hard to see with this specie, and the papillia looked the same at both fish I am asking your guys opinion :d .
The last pic is the mouth of the "male".
Attachments
DSC02808.JPG
DSC02792.JPG
DSC02789.JPG
DSC02784.JPG
DSC02782.JPG
Last edited by Thomas1209 on 27 Apr 2018, 22:03, edited 2 times in total.
Thomas1209

Re: Sexing Hemiodontichtys acipensirus

Post by Thomas1209 »