Water parameter

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Kirkl240
Location 1: Temecula california usa
Location 2: USA

Water parameter

Post by Kirkl240 »

I am currently breeding L134 and L397 plecos and I’m moving to a property with a well with high nitrates 25ppm+. I want to use ro water and just wondering what is the cheapest way to remineralize water and what is the best parameters for plecos. Any info is greatly appreciated.
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 130
My cats species list: 142 (i:102, k:39)
My aquaria list: 36 (i:13)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2671)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 177
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Re: Water parameter

Post by bekateen »

Sorry I have no experience with remineralizing RO water. I usually mix RO with tap. If your tap water is modestly hard, you could probably do a 3/4 RO, 1/4 tap to save some minerals and just leave a little nitrate.

Hopefully someone else has a better solution.

Good luck,
Eric
Find me on YouTube and Facebook: http://youtube.com/user/Bekateen1; https://www.facebook.com/Bekateen
Buying caves from https://plecocaves.com? Plecocaves sponsor Bekateen's Fishroom. Use coupon code "bekateen" (no quotes) for 15% off your order.
Kirkl240

Post by Kirkl240 »

Thanks Eric. That’s exactly what I was thinking. I’m just not sure how much trouble it is to add minerals. I appreciate the feedback.
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 130
My cats species list: 142 (i:102, k:39)
My aquaria list: 36 (i:13)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2671)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 177
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Post by bekateen »

You're welcome. Myself, at work I've toyed with the idea of using pure RO with a Seachem product, but that probably isn't cheap.

Cheers,Eric
Find me on YouTube and Facebook: http://youtube.com/user/Bekateen1; https://www.facebook.com/Bekateen