4 weeks old fry Dying one by one for years

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
crazytask
Location 1: sweden
Location 2: Jönköping

4 weeks old fry Dying one by one for years

Post by crazytask »

So ive been breeding l134 and l46 for a couple of years now. I get alot of spawns and the adults all are healthy and fat. Never had to work hard to get spawns so thats something im blessed with.

But i always have mixed results with the frys alot of times they just die of one by one after 4 weeks.
They always start eating and become healthy and fat i feed 2 times per day in small amounts i keep them in a fry box with the adults,
My adult tanks are very understocked with some shrimp in it, and i do not over feed. I change anywere from 30-50% per week with aged tap water and i add prime since i have chloramines in the water supply. I pre filter my water thru 2 carbon filters.

water perameters for my tap is ph 8.5 kh 4 dps 150, ph in tanks sits at 8.0. tanks have been up and running for years and are very stable

I really dont know what i can do at this point, its so weird that the frys start feeding and seems to do so well, then just start to die off and the remaing frys just seems to regress in growth at that point aswell. Over the years ive tried alot of fryboxes with or without sand, with leaves in and without, doesnt seem to change the end result. I feed mostly dr bassler and northfin veggie pellets but ive tried alot of others on diffrent batches. I tried with male caring for frys and taking eggs just before they hatch ect ect. I normally get a few fry that make it but they grow slow and a few gets deformed fins.

Anyone got any ideas what i could do, could it be my high PH that frys mabe dont like? Ive heard even small amounts of amonia becomes alot more toxic in high Ph. I have new batches that hatch anytime now, and this time around i bought an Ro unit and im trying 50%/50% tap/ro this brings my ph tp 7.5
bekateen