Bushy nose and L128

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
seeked
Location 1: Ottawa
Location 2: Canada

Bushy nose and L128

Post by seeked »

Good morning,

I have been housing two plecos in my communal tank for a few months now and all seems fine but, i have a small question.
I installed a cheap night vision security cam that I found for 30$ on Amazon to see what food they prefer.

I tried, algae wafers, carnivore sinking pellets, Zucchini, cucumbers, carrots, sweet potato, lettuce, spinach, kale, orange and green peppers, cantaloupe, fresh shrimps and broccoli.
So far the clear winner for the bushy nose is the zucchini. He will spend hours multiple times a night and evening munching on it. Not so much the L128. He does not seem to care for the fruits or veggies I leave them.

I see him buzzing around the tank glass and on the drift wood/cave but, never on the food.

I've had him for a few months now so, I know he eats. but, was wondering. Should I try other food? Is it a territory issue?
Thanks for your time
plec.jpg
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 130
My cats species list: 142 (i:102, k:39)
My aquaria list: 36 (i:13)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2671)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 177
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Re: Bushy nose and L128

Post by bekateen »

Hi seeked,

I would think the L128 should go for some veggies too. Are you feeding them any meats? Chopped shrimp, live blackworms, etc? I know the BNs would like some also (in addition to veggies, not instead of). Also, I may be wrong, but don't L128 like to be warmer than BNs? If so, if temp is lower, that may be inhibiting eating.