Difference between L173 and L236

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Captainandy
My cats species list: 1 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 2
Location 1: Boston
Location 2: Massachusetts

Difference between L173 and L236

Post by Captainandy »

173.jpg
236.2.jpg
236.4.jpg
173a.jpg
Two pics are 173, the other 236

So I have been fortunate enough to acquire a colony (from 3 different sources - all from Asian Breeders) and RB236 regulars - asian source from reputable sources.

I'm less than a year adoring these plecos but have kept both SW and FW for more than 50 years.

Given the fact that many breeders - both here and abroad have dramatically over monetized hard to find species I suspect most are highly inbred in asia. These are photos from PC and I've stared for hours at mine. Some of the 173s are "typical" while many, with age, take on a similar look to high grade 236.

Remember, I'm far from an expert but hope the experts on this site will weigh in
TwoTankAmin
I've donated: $4288.00!
My cats species list: 6 (i:0, k:0)
My BLogs: 2 (i:0, p:48)
Location 1: USA
Location 2: Mt. Kisco, NY
Interests: Fish and Poker

Re: Difference between L173 and L236

Post by TwoTankAmin »

@Captainandy - I am not an Asian breeder and neither of my 173 groups came from Asia. One came from Brazil and the other from Germany. :d

I keep and breed both of the above fish. Before I moused over the pics and saw the URLs, I had pegged the bottom one 100% as 173 and was fairly certain that the top pic was the other 173. Some time ago I did a write up on zebra/173/236 on the MFK site. here is is for what it is worth. bear in mind it is entirely my opinion. it also includes info re spawning and feeding which is similar for all three fish.

Here is the promised info on zebra/236/173:

Price to obtain- highest to lowest.
zebra
236 (the superwhite variety would be at the top of this list)

Max Size- biggest to smallest