Issues with supplier

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Cory.Rivers
Location 1: Cambridgeshire, England
Location 2: Illinois, USA

Issues with supplier

Post by Cory.Rivers »

I'm hoping to get some advice / give a warning about an issue I've faced recently with a fish supplier; apologies if this is the wrong forum, and for the length of the post. I'm a researcher studying Corydoras behavior, and I was looking for some Corydoras pygmaeus, ideally wild-caught, for behavioral studies (observing social behavior; after the research is over, my lab fish are re-homed to live out their lives as pets). I had previously used a supplier called Aqua Imports based in Colorado, USA for Corydoras aeneus-type fish; I had some mortality, but ultimately 52/60 survived in the long term and are thriving (exhibiting good growth, appetite, and the beginnings of breeding behavior). My lab system is closely monitored and my water chemistry has not had any issues. So, I ordered 60 Corydoras pygmaeus from the same supplier. They assured me were wild caught from the Rio Mapo in Peru and arrived to their facility May 3; they shipped them to me on May 19 (overnight, they arrived May 20). This seemed like fast turnaround and I told the supplier there was no rush, but they said the fish were ready, and I assumed that they would be the best judge. I have all of this in writing.