Cory tank rack

Post pictures of your beloved catfish aquaria here. Also good for pictures of your (cat)fish rooms or equipment discussions. If you are posting pictures of identified catfish, please do so in the appropriate husbandry and reproduction forum above.
Post Reply
User avatar
kiwidu21
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:22 am
My cats species list: 10 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:0)
Spotted: 2
Location 1: France
Location 2: Côte D'Or

Cory tank rack

Post by kiwidu21 »

Hello,

wishing to move on to the next stage, I would like to make an aquarium battery with tanks of approximately 96l. My problem is with the filtration. On most batteries, either the filtration is done by exhauster, or with a small settling tank on each tank. However, I would like to have the same water on the whole battery (or at least per floor) so as not to have to acclimatize the eggs / fry when they change tanks on the same battery. My problem arises with the suction of the bins and the overflow. I would also like each tank to be able to be isolated (installation of valve / tap therefore).
How to ensure that each bin is fed without overflowing?
How did you do your battery?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Jools
Expert
Posts: 15185
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 3:25 pm
My articles: 193
My images: 914
My catfish: 239
My cats species list: 89 (i:0, k:6)
My aquaria list: 2 (i:2)
My BLogs: 7 (i:5, p:194)
My Wishlist: 20
Spotted: 985
Location 1: M8
Location 2: Scotland
Interests: All things aquatic, Sci-Fi, photography and travel. Oh, and beer.
Contact:

Re: Cory tank rack

Post by Jools »

Hi,

Most folks do something like the undernoted pic. Or have a hole drilled in the aquarium base with an vertical overflow which gives the advantage of making water levels adjustable.

Image

Hope that helps,

Jools
User avatar
kiwidu21
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:22 am
My cats species list: 10 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:0)
Spotted: 2
Location 1: France
Location 2: Côte D'Or

Re: Cory tank rack

Post by kiwidu21 »

Thank you its help me a little.
But suddenly concerning the filtration, even by putting overflow, the pump flow will be higher right?
User avatar
Jools
Expert
Posts: 15185
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 3:25 pm
My articles: 193
My images: 914
My catfish: 239
My cats species list: 89 (i:0, k:6)
My aquaria list: 2 (i:2)
My BLogs: 7 (i:5, p:194)
My Wishlist: 20
Spotted: 985
Location 1: M8
Location 2: Scotland
Interests: All things aquatic, Sci-Fi, photography and travel. Oh, and beer.
Contact:

Re: Cory tank rack

Post by Jools »

Not if you buy the right pump, make the diameter of the overflow suitable and take into account the height the pump has to raise water. You can also add a second failsafe overflow if you're really risk adverse.

Jools
User avatar
kiwidu21
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:22 am
My cats species list: 10 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:0)
Spotted: 2
Location 1: France
Location 2: Côte D'Or

Re: Cory tank rack

Post by kiwidu21 »

Ok thanks.
If I go on a rack of 12 tanks of 100l / 20g (4 per floor), what would be the ideal flow rate?
Suddenly, the circulation of water would be in cascade or it is possible to make a pipe which can insulate a tank?
User avatar
Jools
Expert
Posts: 15185
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2002 3:25 pm
My articles: 193
My images: 914
My catfish: 239
My cats species list: 89 (i:0, k:6)
My aquaria list: 2 (i:2)
My BLogs: 7 (i:5, p:194)
My Wishlist: 20
Spotted: 985
Location 1: M8
Location 2: Scotland
Interests: All things aquatic, Sci-Fi, photography and travel. Oh, and beer.
Contact:

Re: Cory tank rack

Post by Jools »

Flow rate and circulation are different depending on how you design it. Flow rate would be the output of the pump. Circulation or perhaps better to say current within each tank depends on if you have a pre-filter, diffusers or if you drop the water in horizontally or vertically.

Jools
JamesFish
Posts: 420
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:03 pm
I've donated: $23.00!
Location 1: UK
Location 2: Kent
Interests: Fish, IT
Contact:

Re: Cory tank rack

Post by JamesFish »

Hi,

I would suggest instead of going for multiple tanks look for 1 big divided one per lvl or 2/3. Like an aquarium shop would use.

1 - It should already have some pipe work drilled (if used)
2 - Price should be good (if used) / saves time and reduces chances of leaks if you have fewer joins.
3 - It should already have nice dividers in it to allow flow between sections.

Isolation would only be possible on a per level / tank basis though.

If you are not on the ground floor with concrete or something I'd recommend keeping pipework inside the tanks. It sucks to sand and repaint ceilings due to a little leak. Wife went nuts when it was an air line reversed overnight and dripped from a 20L tank.
Post Reply