How deep is too deep?

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Post Reply
User avatar
Taratron
Posts: 803
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 4:46 pm
I've donated: $40.00!
My cats species list: 1 (i:0, k:0)
Location 1: Arizona, USA
Location 2: Phoenix, AZ
Interests: Fish, herps, the Discworld novels, Invader Zim, and entomology

How deep is too deep?

Post by Taratron »

For medium cories like bronze, would a standard 55 be too deep for them to safely get to the surface? A friend of mine had his in a 125 tall, and none of them lived for long. But I haven't had any in anything larger than a 20 or 29 in a good while.
But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I will be unique in all the world..... You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed.
~Antoine de Saint-Exupery
User avatar
bekateen
Posts: 7599
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 5:50 pm
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 78
My cats species list: 121 (i:37, k:48)
My aquaria list: 30 (i:13)
My BLogs: 36 (i:125, p:1867)
My Wishlist: 39
Spotted: 147
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton
Contact:

Re: How deep is too deep?

Post by bekateen »

I've been keeping zygatus, ambiacus and c156 in a standard 75 gal since 2019. Same depth as a 55. You should be okay.

Good luck,
Eric
Image
http://youtube.com/user/Bekateen1
Would you like to buy my fish? Click HERE for prices.
Buying caves from https://plecocaves.com? Plecocaves is now sponsoring Bekateen's Fishroom. Use coupon code "bekateen" (no quotes) for 15% off your order.
aquaholic
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:27 am
Location 1: Australia
Interests: Catfish, tankbusters and cichlids

Re: How deep is too deep?

Post by aquaholic »

I've got some in a 2m deep tank without any issues. No problem with them swimming to the surface. Breed quite happily.
Post Reply