Corydoras fry dying, normal amount?

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Woodh
My cats species list: 6 (i:2, k:5)
My aquaria list: 1 (i:1)
Spotted: 7
Location 1: Linkoping
Location 2: Sweden

Corydoras fry dying, normal amount?

Post by Woodh »

Woke up to two dead metae "fry"(in reality they are over a month old so not sure what to call them), that makes for 5 spotted deaths in total out of 14 fish so I have at best 9 left, 7 in a breederbox and 2 might still be alive in the parents tank. I did expect some losses but lately they have been growing fine and it was one of the most well developed ones that was found dead now.

Just wish to be able to raise a handful or so and this is getting abit worrying/disheartening. I guess it's also something one learns to deal with but since I am new to having fry etc the deaths hit harder than they should I suppose.

Considering emptying the breeding box into the tank since I am sure the young ones are large enough to survive in there but I am not sure if it's better or worse for having a chance of chances of keeping atleast some alive.

Any input?
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 130
My cats species list: 142 (i:102, k:39)
My aquaria list: 36 (i:13)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2653)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 177
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Re: Corydoras fry dying, normal amount?

Post by bekateen »

Sorry for your loss. Yes fry die, but not as often at the age you mention. I would release them in the parents' tank.

Good luck,
Eric
Find me on YouTube and Facebook: http://youtube.com/user/Bekateen1; https://www.facebook.com/Bekateen
Buying caves from https://plecocaves.com? Plecocaves sponsor Bekateen's Fishroom. Use coupon code "bekateen" (no quotes) for 15% off your order.
Woodh

Post by Woodh »