Passing of Ray Lucas

A members area where you can introduce yourself, discuss anything outwith catfish and generally get to know each other.
Shane
Expert
My articles: 69
My images: 161
My catfish: 75
My cats species list: 4 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 4 (i:4)
Spotted: 99
Location 1: Tysons
Location 2: Virginia

Passing of Ray Lucas

Post by Shane »

A giant of the hobby has been lost. Ray Lucas passed five days ago. It has taken me a few days to process his passing.

In the early 1990s I had just finished University and had a few articles under my name in TFH, FAMA, and AFM (US "shiny" magazines). I was invited to speak at the Northeast Council convention in Connecticut. It was my first national speaking opportunity and the first ever catfish focused convention. I was giving a talk with the "giants" of the hobby: Lee Finley, Ginny Eckstein, and Wayne Leibel. As a new university graduate, I turned up in slacks, tie and jacket to give my presentation. I ended up laying in the hallway of the hotel with Lee and Wayne plastered and talking fish until the wee hours of the morning.

I met a very nice man named Ray Lucas who said he loved my presentation and was very kind with his time.

Two weeks after the convention two giant boxes showed up at my house. They were full of filters, nets, fish food, and python products. The return address was Ray Lucas. I called him (remember I am broke at this point in my life) and said Ray I can never repay you for this. He just said, "Keep doing what your doing." I have tried to abide by his request for 30 years.

-Shane
Last edited by Shane on 03 Mar 2023, 01:20, edited 1 time in total.
"My journey is at an end and the tale is told. The reader who has followed so faithfully and so far, they have the right to ask, what do I bring back? It can be summed up in three words. Concentrate upon Uganda."
Winston Churchill, My African Journey
aquaholic
My images: 1
Spotted: 1
Location 1: Australia
Interests: Catfish, tankbusters and cichlids