Transferring Filters to New Tanks

Post pictures of your beloved catfish aquaria here. Also good for pictures of your (cat)fish rooms or equipment discussions. If you are posting pictures of identified catfish, please do so in the appropriate husbandry and reproduction forum above.
CorydoraCat
My cats species list: 6 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:0)
Location 2: Canada

Transferring Filters to New Tanks

Post by CorydoraCat »

I've never done this before, and was just wondering if anyone else has tried it and had any success.

I'm setting up a 25 gallon aquarium for my Corys in about two weeks.
I need to upgrade my filter, and have a friend who's willing to sell me one of his MarineLand filters. His tanks are very well kept, and he's been keeping freshwater and saltwater tanks for years with lots of success. He asked if I want it left cycling in the aquarium it's currently in until I get my aquarium set up and filled. My question is, is it safe to use a pre-cycled filter from a well-established tank, for a brand new aquarium? I was thinking of the benefit of having bacteria ready to go rather than starting from scratch, but I've never done this and wasn't sure if it's too risky for my own fish.

Thoughts?
2wheelsx2
I've donated: $20.00!
My cats species list: 71 (i:3, k:0)
My aquaria list: 4 (i:3)
Location 1: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Location 2: BC, Canada
Interests: motorcycles, tropical fish, car detailing

Re: Transferring Filters to New Tanks

Post by 2wheelsx2 »

It's only risky for your fish if his tank has disease. So if you're getting all new fish which are not guaranteed disease-free and in a tank by themselves (ie, not from a LFS), you're not running any more risk than if you're starting a new filter. However, you get to skip the cycle and not have to worry ammonia poisoning for your new fish with an established filter (or just the filter bio media).
tagamasid1023
My cats species list: 35 (i:35, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:3)
Location 1: USA