Sad day in the fish room

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Narwhal72
I've donated: $100.00!
My cats species list: 100 (i:0, k:3)
My BLogs: 29 (i:0, p:400)
Spotted: 32
Location 1: USA
Location 2: Milwaukee, WI
Interests: Whiptails, hoplo cats, corys, plecos

Sad day in the fish room

Post by Narwhal72 »

Well it's been a disheartening week in my fish room.

I brought back some nice cichlids from the ACA convention and put them into a holding tank in my central system. It had been a long time since I bought fish from anywhere other than a local breeder and I was careless. My UV sterilizer lamp had burned out and I wasn't paying attention and soon my whole central system was infected with ick.

Last night I removed the carcasses of my 3 Gold Nugget plecos that I had been growing out for the last 4 years. Lost a group of 4 year old Satanoperca daemon also. My L226 colony and the large Royal plecos in the system look terrible but haven't succumbed yet. Ick is on just about everything.

Did two treatments with ick medication over the weekend and got the UV back up and running last night. Put on a smaller portable UV on one tank also. Tank temperature is up to 83 degrees and still climbing (will stall it at 86 degrees). Hopefully the losses will slow down.

Only good news is that once it is all said and done, I will relieve some of the overcrowding in my non-system tanks.

Andy
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 130
My cats species list: 142 (i:102, k:39)
My aquaria list: 36 (i:13)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2671)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 177
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Re: Sad day in the fish room

Post by bekateen »

That's awful, Andy. Sorry for your loss.

Regards, Eric
Find me on YouTube and Facebook: http://youtube.com/user/Bekateen1; https://www.facebook.com/Bekateen