Bought Pleco at LPS - What kind is it?

Did you know fantastic help is an anagram of Planet Catfish? This forum is for those of you with pictures of your catfish who are looking for help identifying them. There are many here to help and a firm ID is the first step towards keeping your catfish in the best conditions.
idahospud22
Location 2: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by idahospud22 »

I am new to having an aquarium and having any fish at all and I recently bought a new pleco from the LPS and it was sold under the name Flash Pleco, but I am pretty sure it isn't a Flash Pleco. Could someone please let me know what they actually sold me is? Pictures aren't that great, but better than nothing.
Attachments
IMG_1292.JPG
IMG_1299.JPG
IMG_1296.JPG
Juiceyfish
My cats species list: 24 (i:0, k:0)
Location 2: Charlottetown

Re: Bought Pleco at LPS - What kind is it?

Post by Juiceyfish »

Def not a flash pleco!! L204 flash pleco looks like soImage

*** not my picture .... Picture belongs to a friend of mine***
magdalo
My cats species list: 7 (i:6, k:0)
My aquaria list: 2 (i:2)
Location 1: Amadeo, Cavite
Location 2: Philippines

Post by magdalo »

It is not uncommon for these to be mislabeled by local LFS. This one looks like a Hypan, an L129 I believe.
FishnFins
My cats species list: 6 (i:0, k:0)
Location 1: Novi, Michiagan
Location 2: Novi, Michigan
Interests: Plecos!! of course! rc cars and more.

Post by FishnFins »

I know for sure it's not a l-129. I think we should give it some time since it was probably wild cuaght and hasn't completely adjusted to tank life.
Super Reds LF Brown L-183 L-66
Green Dragons LF Albino L-260 L-129
LF Brown L-180 L-262 L-333
idahospud22

Post by idahospud22 »