help! "new" tanks, fungus, etc.

Post pictures of your beloved catfish aquaria here. Also good for pictures of your (cat)fish rooms or equipment discussions. If you are posting pictures of identified catfish, please do so in the appropriate husbandry and reproduction forum above.
fearbiter
Location 1: Derry, NH

help! "new" tanks, fungus, etc.

Post by fearbiter »

hi. i'm fairly new to keeping an aquarium (since last august or so) and so far, i think i have done just about everything wrong. but, until a few weeks ago, i had had no major troubles.

started out with a 29 gallon tank. my test strips didn't measure ammonia, and i didn't start testing that til recently. both tanks are reading way too high without any nitrites and only trace nitrates. it's almost as if there was no ammonia reduction going on at all. is this possible? could i have killed off all the bacteria with treatments (see below)?? what can i do to fix this (my LFS does NOT carry Biospira)? (right now the 29 gal has a temp of 82, ph of about 6.75, very soft water, ammonia about 2-3, no nitrates or nitrites - all artificial plants and decorations, two penguin 170 filters - eight tiger barbs, one rasbora, three cory cats, a bushy nose pleco and a raphael catfish)