rescue with a synodontis ill-treated

All posts regarding the care and breeding of catfishes from Africa.
stine
My cats species list: 1 (i:1, k:0)
My aquaria list: 1 (i:0)
Location 1: south France
Location 2: France
Interests: Aquaria of course : I'm new at it but I do have a 260L WAC / 120L / 54L Southamerica with Corydoras pygmeus / 30L with Carinotetraodon travancoricus / 20L Betta plakat.
Photography, travelling & Archery

rescue with a synodontis ill-treated

Post by stine »

Hi here,
(I'm sorry in advance with my english, i will try to do my best but my mothertongue is french)
well, I'm here to get some help because I took away a catfish from a dentist which had this fish. Be careful it's really awful to see this poor fish ! I really need you to help me in finding the exact species because I want the best life conditions for him !
I have it since one week and I can see clearly he's getting a little better ! I want to offer a real better life now so i need your knowledge to get the answer at the following questions :

1) after seeing a lot of pictures of catfish, I'm nearly sure he's a Synodontis Eupterus, can you confirm ?
2) what is the minimum tank he will need to be in a good conditions for the reste of his life ? (31 gallons ? 50 ?)
3) which other species can I added with him when he'll be cured and safe ?

Be careful before watching theses pictures, it can hurt... X_X
the first picture is the fish in the dentist's tank, when I saw it

the first is dated from 25 of december, the second is from today

thanks in advance for your help, for him :)
Last edited by stine on 31 Jan 2015, 13:27, edited 2 times in total.
Jools
Expert
My articles: 197
My images: 944
My catfish: 238
My cats species list: 87 (i:13, k:1)
My BLogs: 7 (i:7, p:202)
My Wishlist: 23
Spotted: 447
Location 1: Middle Earth,
Location 2: Scotland
Interests: All things aquatic, Sci-Fi, photography and travel. Oh, and beer.

Re: rescue with a synodontis ill-treated

Post by Jools »