Cat-eLog Right Arrow Families Right Arrow Clariidae

Jump to next section Species List
1.Bathyclarias foveolatus(i:4, k:0)
2.Bathyclarias gigas(i:3, k:0)
3.Bathyclarias nyasensis(i:4, k:0)
4.Channallabes apus(i:14, k:10)
5.Channallabes sanghaensis(i:1, k:0)
6.Channallabes sp. (1)(i:5, k:0)
7.Clariallabes centralis(i:1, k:0)
8.Clariallabes dumerili(i:1, k:0)
9.Clariallabes heterocephalus(i:1, k:0)
10.Clariallabes laticeps(i:2, k:0)
11.Clariallabes longicauda(i:3, k:0)
12.Clariallabes melas(i:2, k:0)
13.Clariallabes platyprosopos(i:1, k:0)
14.Clariallabes variabilis(i:1, k:0)
15.Clarias alluaudi(i:14, k:0)
16.Clarias anfractus(i:1, k:0)
17.Clarias angolensis(i:1, k:1)
18.Clarias anguillaris(i:2, k:0)
19.Clarias batrachus(i:76, k:36)
20.Clarias batu(i:1, k:0)
21.Clarias buettikoferi(i:1, k:0)
22.Clarias buthupogon(i:1, k:0)
23.Clarias camerunensis(i:2, k:0)
24.Clarias cavernicola(i:0, k:0)
25.Clarias dhonti(i:3, k:0)
26.Clarias ebriensis(i:2, k:0)
27.Clarias engelseni(i:3, k:0)
28.Clarias fuscus(i:2, k:4)
29.Clarias gabonensis(i:1, k:0)
30.Clarias gariepinus(i:26, k:7)
31.Clarias gracilentus(i:3, k:0)
32.Clarias insolitus(i:1, k:0)
33.Clarias jaensis(i:1, k:0)
34.Clarias leiacanthus(i:5, k:1)
35.Clarias liocephalus(i:1, k:1)
36.Clarias macrocephalus(i:4, k:0)
37.Clarias meladerma(i:3, k:0)
38.Clarias microspilus(i:0, k:0)
39.Clarias ngamensis(i:2, k:0)
40.Clarias nieuhofii(i:4, k:2)
41.Clarias nigromarmoratus(i:1, k:0)
42.Clarias pachynema(i:3, k:0)
43.Clarias platycephalus(i:3, k:0)
44.Clarias serniosus(i:0, k:0)
45.Clarias stappersii(i:1, k:0)
46.Clarias submarginatus(i:1, k:0)
47.Clarias teijsmanni(i:3, k:0)
48.Clarias theodorae(i:1, k:0)
49.Clarias werneri(i:2, k:0)
50.Dinotopterus cunningtoni(i:1, k:0)
51.Dolichallabes microphthalmus(i:2, k:0)
52.Encheloclarias curtisoma(i:4, k:1)
53.Encheloclarias medialis(i:0, k:0)
54.Gymnallabes nops(i:1, k:1)
55.Gymnallabes typus(i:16, k:8)
56.Heterobranchus bidorsalis(i:1, k:0)
57.Heterobranchus boulengeri(i:1, k:0)
58.Heterobranchus isopterus(i:1, k:0)
59.Heterobranchus longifilis(i:6, k:2)
60.Heterobranchus sp. hybrid(i:2, k:0)
61.Heteropneustes fossilis(i:17, k:23)
62.Heteropneustes kemratensis(i:0, k:0)
63.Heteropneustes microps(i:0, k:0)
64.Horaglanis abdulkalami(i:0, k:0)
65.Horaglanis alikunhii(i:1, k:0)
66.Horaglanis krishnai(i:0, k:0)
67.Platyallabes tihoni(i:2, k:0)
68.Platyclarias machadoi(i:0, k:0)
69.Pseudotanganikallabes prognatha(i:4, k:0)
70.Tanganikallabes alboperca(i:3, k:0)
71.Tanganikallabes mortiauxi(i:11, k:1)
72.Tanganikallabes stewarti(i:3, k:0)
73.Uegitglanis zammaranoi(i:4, k:0)
74.Xenoclarias holobranchus(i:3, k:0)
Jump to next section Total of 74 species
Jump to next section The Catfish Family Clariidae
Family Common NameWalking Catfish
DistributionAfrica & Asia
Common NamesWalking Catfish
SizeSmallest 31mm, largest 1750mm, average 414mm, most commonly 1000mm. All SL.
SpeciesThere are 74 species in 17 genera in the database
Keepers14 species (18%) are being kept by registered keepers
Jump to next section Top Five Genera
1.Clarias (52 keepers)
2.Heteropneustes (23 keepers)
3.Channallabes (10 keepers)
4.Gymnallabes (9 keepers)
5.Heterobranchus (2 keepers)
Jump to next section Distribution of selected species
Jump to next section Most Kept Species
1. Clarias batrachus (36.73%)
2. Heteropneustes fossilis (23.47%)
3. Channallabes apus (10.2%)
4. Gymnallabes typus (8.16%)
5. Clarias gariepinus (7.14%)
6. Clarias fuscus (4.08%)
7. Heterobranchus longifilis (2.04%)
8. Clarias nieuhofii (2.04%)
9. Tanganikallabes mortiauxi (1.02%)
10. Gymnallabes nops (1.02%)
11. Encheloclarias curtisoma (1.02%)
12. Clarias liocephalus (1.02%)
13. Clarias leiacanthus (1.02%)
14. Clarias angolensis (1.02%)