Catfish for 10 gal with betta?

Post pictures of your beloved catfish aquaria here. Also good for pictures of your (cat)fish rooms or equipment discussions. If you are posting pictures of identified catfish, please do so in the appropriate husbandry and reproduction forum above.
aquarianibis
My cats species list: 1 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 1 (i:0)
My Wishlist: 1
Spotted: 4
Location 1: Rochester
Location 2: NY

Catfish for 10 gal with betta?

Post by aquarianibis »

Hello, all! I’m fairly new to the fishkeeping hobby, so please be patient with me... I am setting up a 10 gal tank and I am planning to move my male betta into it. I’ve read that fish that live at a different water level (eg bottom-dwellers) are sometimes successful as tankmates with bettas. Also, I just love catfish! I’ve been leaning toward corys (maybe a small group of pandas?) but I am certainly open to suggestions! What do you think would work in my tank? (Keeping the betta in a separate tank is an option, but I’d rather put him in the bigger tank.) In the forums over at PRAquatics someone suggested , so that’s on my list of ideas. I also really like plecos. Thanks for any ideas you have!
bekateen
I've donated: $40.00!
My articles: 4
My images: 130
My cats species list: 142 (i:102, k:39)
My aquaria list: 36 (i:13)
My BLogs: 44 (i:149, p:2671)
My Wishlist: 35
Spotted: 177
Location 1: USA, California, Stockton
Location 2: USA, California, Stockton

Re: Catfish for 10 gal with betta?

Post by bekateen »

Hi aquarianibis,

Welcome to Planetcatfish.

As for your question, panda corys should be okay with your betta. I haven't combined these before, so I do have some thoughts. 1) Corys can be quite active, but bettas are less so. Will the high activity of the corys annoy or stress your betta? 2) Corys are a schooling/shoaling type of fish,