Catfish Identification

Did you know fantastic help is an anagram of Planet Catfish? This forum is for those of you with pictures of your catfish who are looking for help identifying them. There are many here to help and a firm ID is the first step towards keeping your catfish in the best conditions.
JG
My cats species list: 3 (i:0, k:0)
Location 1: Canada
Location 2: Ontario, Canada
Interests: God, family, fish

Catfish Identification

Post by JG »

Jay's Aquaria
http://jays_aquaria.webs.com/
Marc van Arc
Expert
My articles: 20
My images: 61
My catfish: 9
Spotted: 35
Location 2: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Post by Marc van Arc »

This is what used to be Peckoltia vittata, although I doubt that it still has the same name.
Check the Cate-Log under Loricaridae, Peckoltia.
JG

Post by JG »

I'm by no means a catfish expert but I was initially leaning towards Panaque maccus but was wondering what you more experienced pleco lovers thought. I did check on the profile for Peckoltia vittata however the picture submissions don't seem to match with the picture I've posted. The Panaque maccus photo submissions seem to match, especially in the face markings.

What do you think?

J
Jay's Aquaria
mallemalle
I've donated: $200.00!
My images: 15
My cats species list: 20 (i:1, k:12)
My BLogs: 1 (i:1, p:29)
Spotted: 29
Location 1: Gjerdrum
Location 2: Norway
Interests: doradids,banjos,bumblebees and suckers.

Post by mallemalle »

Panaque maccus is often sold under the name Peckoltia vittata. your fish is an Panaque maccus.

Mallemalle
Soup is good food!
Marc van Arc
Expert

Post by Marc van Arc »

JG wrote:I'm by no means a catfish expert but I was initially leaning towards Panaque maccus but was wondering what you more experienced pl*co lovers thought
J
I am no pl*co lover, and it shows, doesn't it? Your Q & A confront me with a totally different problem, however.