Planning a tank for Kryptopterus minor.

All posts regarding the care and breeding of catfishes from Asia.
Sfamnun
My cats species list: 2 (i:0, k:0)
My aquaria list: 1 (i:1)
Location 2: Sweden
Interests: Bagrids, Pimelodids, Clariids and such.

Planning a tank for Kryptopterus minor.

Post by Sfamnun »

Hey everyone! :)

I recently got a new Juwel Rio 180 aquarium, in which I'm planning to keep a group of . I've got some ideas on how to set it up and I'd like to run them by all of you before I actually do anything! :)

I doubt that I'll make it into a proper biotope aquarium - though I would have liked to if it was easier! The size of the tank is 101 x 41 x 50cm (holds about 180litres) and I am planning on using the original Juwel filter as well as the original lighting, which are a couple of 45W T5 tubes.

My substrate will be soft sand with a grain size of 0.25 to 1mm. This is my first time trying sand as a substrate, so I don't know how well it will work with plants and so on. I was thinking of having some granite rocks as well as a bit of larger gravel, with small plants (small crypts and Eleocharis, for example) planted here and there in the foreground and some of the center, with taller plants in the sides and back. I'm not sure which plants I should choose for the back and sides - maybe Vallisneria nana and Limnophila? I was also thinking of planting several larger crypts as midground plants, among rocks. I'd also like to have some driftwood - something nice and branchy, like redmoor wood. Do you think that this will be enough cover for the fish, if I plant well enough and give the plants some time to grow?

How about tankmates? I have been considering either Rasbora lacrimula or R. borapetensis, as both are available here.

Does this sound like a reasonable set up? How many fish of each species do you think I should have? I'm definitely no fan of overstocking, but I'd like there to be enough fish of both species so that they feel secure.

Thanks in advance!