Suggestions for cory newcomer please

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
Pidge
Location 1: Reading, UK
Interests: Fish, football,

Suggestions for cory newcomer please

Post by Pidge »

Hello,
Not kept catfish before but really enjoy this well maintained and friendly site.
I've been keeping a colwater community aquarium for a few years (fancy goldfish, white clouds and hillstream loaches) and now fancy keeping cories. I've got a 10 gallon (18.5" x 9" surface) I'm considering using and all the equipment necessary. The power filter and thermofilter are capable of turning over the volume 11 times per hour. I'll be moving to Reading soon, a hard water area. I was wondering what cories, if any, would be happy in this setup, which I'd like to be well planted with fine gravel, and the safest stocking level. At a guess I reckon the water will be slightly alkaline. Also, any recommendations on plant varieties would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Pete.
Allan
My aquaria list: 1 (i:0)
Location 1: Denmark
Interests: Catfish, mostly corys.

Post by Allan »

To a coldwater aquarium i would recommend Corydoras paleatus. It's very common in the trade, and one of the most tolerant cori'es both with temperature and water parameters.

But no cories do, to my knowledge, like an alkaline enviroment. But the paleatus will tolerate it as good as the other fish you have. Have you considered contacting the watersupply in your future hometown to get some precise info on the dH, Fe, kH and others?

In a 10 g (app. 40L) i would keep a group on 5 males and 2-3 females, considering that they have to share the tank with hillstream loaches and white cloud. How many of these fish do you keep? Imo it's a perfect setup (not same biotope, but a good match anyway), if you would just loose those goldfish!