Looking at breeding some L134 pleco

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
camdee
Location 1: Quebec
Location 2: Canada

Looking at breeding some L134 pleco

Post by camdee »

hi,

i have been breeding shrimps for a few years now and I want to try something else.

I have choosen to breed pleco's , especially some L134 and I bave questions before i start.

Tank size: what is a good tank size for breeding L134 with a trio

Sex: is it better to have 2 males + 1 female ?

Any comments or tips are welcome.
Jobro
My cats species list: 12 (i:7, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:3)
Spotted: 3
Location 1: Germany
Location 2: Allgäu

Re: Looking at breeding some L134 pleco

Post by Jobro »

L134 would not be my beginners tip. As they seem to be rather random in their spawning behaviors. Meaning, it is pretty tough to induce a spawn on these. They just may do it or not and it might take a year or more for them to start breeding after you got them and it might turn out rather disappointing for a while. Hypancistrus or Ancistrus are easier and more rewarding for starters.
follow my Plecos on Instagram: welsgefluester
Jobro
My cats species list: 12 (i:7, k:0)
My aquaria list: 3 (i:3)
Spotted: 3
Location 1: Germany
Location 2: Allgäu

Post by Jobro »

Jobro wrote: 16 Aug 2018, 12:01 L134 would not be my beginners tip. As they seem to be rather random in their spawning behaviors. Meaning, it is pretty tough to induce a spawn on these. They just may do it or not and it might take a year or more for them to start breeding after you got them and it might turn out rather disappointing for a while. Hypancistrus or Ancistrus are easier and more rewarding for starters.
Not trying to say, that it won't work right off the batch. But it's pretty random and you might find yourself pretty clueless as to what to do, if they just won't spawn.
follow my Plecos on Instagram: welsgefluester
TwoTankAmin
I've donated: $4288.00!
My cats species list: 6 (i:0, k:0)