Intro & a question :)

All posts regarding the care and breeding of these catfishes from South America.
asgard
Location 1: Auckland, New Zealand

Intro & a question :)

Post by asgard »

Hello hello!
I'm fairly new to Loricariidae but recently bought one and promptly fell in love with it. Please pardon me if I make mistakes in some of my posts; am trying desperately to understand everything (especially the L numbers) :oops:
Planet Catfish is definitely a godsend IMHO.

I'm a 24 year old IT Engineer living in Auckland, New Zealand and have had a freshwater tropical tank for about 4 years now. Was going through my local pet shop 3 weeks ago when I came across this strange dinosaur-like creature that appeared to be rasping away on the tank glass. I was captured! Entranced! I fell in love :)

It was introduced to me as a "Common Pl*costomus."
At that point I didn't really understand how incorrect that term was, & bought it. The pet store gave me information on how to look after it & warned me that they grew to be pretty big; but being the fish concious person I am, I went online and started hunting for information on them.... wow :shock:
I didn't realise what I was in for! But I was too hooked on my little guy to really stop at that point (& have become more so since!)

I'm currently trying to get some good pictures of him so I can post them on the identification board; but was wondering whether people could give me some advice about the best book to buy that concentrates on Loricariidae? I had a read through the Books section and settled on 'Loricariidae : The Most Beautiful L-Numbers'; but will I also need to get the first book 'Loricariidae, All L-Numbers'?