Common Bristlenose Scientific Name

For the discussion of catfish systematics. Post here to draw our attention to new publications or to discuss existing works.
sirbooks
Location 1: United States

Common Bristlenose Scientific Name

Post by sirbooks »

Why is it that the "common" bristlenose doesn't seem to have a clear scientific name? Is it because there are so many versions of the fish, or is it just plain taxonomic confusion? Forgive the question, I'm pretty new to this naming stuff.
Silurus
I've donated: $12.00!
My articles: 55
My images: 884
My catfish: 1
My cats species list: 90 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 419
Location 1: Singapore
Location 2: Moderator Emeritus

Post by Silurus »

or is it just plain taxonomic confusion?
Bingo.
MatsP
My articles: 4
My images: 28
My cats species list: 117 (i:33, k:0)
My aquaria list: 10 (i:8)
My BLogs: 4 (i:0, p:97)
Spotted: 187
Location 1: North of Cambridge
Location 2: England.

Post by MatsP »

It's exactly that: Common Bristlenose isn't ONE single specie, it's several different species that look pretty similar.

I'm not sure if a factor in this is also that some of the species may not be properly named either (there are a couple of hundred different Loricariid's, which is the "great family" of pl*co's, that haven't been properly named yet).

I'm not sure exactly how this naming business works when it comes to identifying new species, but I think the principle is:
1. Find a fish that doesn't look like anything you've seen before.
2. Ask around to see if anyone else knows what it is. If someone does (and it actually matches the fish you've got), then you go back to step 1.
3. You describe the fish in detail, including it's specific characteristics in comparison with other specie(s) of this family.
4. You publish your description to the scientific community.
5. You receive all sorts of suggestions that this is not as you say, but indeed a fish of the specie X or Y. If you can't prove otherwise, go back to 1.