Iridescent Shark problems.

All posts regarding the care and breeding of catfishes from Asia.
olsonl

Iridescent Shark problems.

Post by olsonl »

I'm new to this, and I bought a Pangasius Hypophthalmus at a fish store sale last year. I didn't even know what he was until just recently. I have learned that he will get nearly 5 feet in length. This is a touch big for my 29 gallon tank. When I got him he was about 3 inches and after a year, he is about 3.5 inches. Are there any suggestions as to what to do with this fish...I had no clue he was going to get that big... Any help is appreciated.

Laura
DeLBoD
Location 1: Wales UK

Post by DeLBoD »

Return it to the LFS?.
Chocky316
Location 1: Bellflower, California
Interests: FISH/SG-1/WWE/VIDEO GAMES/MOVIES

Post by Chocky316 »

i bought 2 at the lfs; they were about 3-4" each; less than a year later, 1 is around a foot long and the other around 8" or so; they are really cool but "freak out" a lot a bang the glass!!! :? :? keep them in 100g tank. my pacus keep eating the tips of their tails and dorsal fins off :twisted: :twisted: they need a lot of room and little furniture!!
Does My Hair Look OK??

Go COWBOYS!!!

"PIMPIN' AIN'T EASY!!"
Silurus
I've donated: $12.00!
My articles: 55
My images: 885
My catfish: 1
My cats species list: 90 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 420
Location 1: Singapore
Location 2: Moderator Emeritus

Post by Silurus »

keep them in 100g tank
Is that going to be their permanent home? People here have strong feelings about keeping large fish in small tanks.
Daemen
Location 1: Philippines

Post by Daemen »

hmm.... i bought mine late Dec 2003 for my 55gallon tank. they were just 3"-4" then. and now as of Feb 10, 2004 they are 7"-8". How come mine grows sooo fast!!! :shock:

as usual they freak out when i clean the tank. but i noticed that when the lights are switched off as i clean the tank they basically dont mind at all.
brianfl
Location 1: South Florida

Post by brianfl »