Aquarium salts..

A members area where you can introduce yourself, discuss anything outwith catfish and generally get to know each other.
IndefactorX
Location 1: Texas

Aquarium salts..

Post by IndefactorX »

alright.. this is my first time using/buying aquarium salt **as a medication** and it states that you should add one round tablespoon of salt for every 5 gallons!

i'm a bit nervous about using it because that seems like a preaty high concentration and i just need some guidance before i use it, it's on a fresh water tank and i dont know what proportions it should be used in...
in the 75 gallon tank i am keeping a 9" Oscar and a 9" blue channel cat as well as a small 3-4" c.pl*c

any help would be greatly appreciated
Only one difference between genius and stupidity, genius has its limits
Silurus
I've donated: $12.00!
My articles: 55
My images: 885
My catfish: 1
My cats species list: 90 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 420
Location 1: Singapore
Location 2: Moderator Emeritus

Post by Silurus »

What do you want to use the salt for?
Barbie
Expert
I've donated: $360.00!
My articles: 1
My images: 15
My catfish: 2
My cats species list: 58 (i:0, k:0)
Spotted: 8
Location 1: Spokane, WA
Location 2: USA

Post by Barbie »

What exactly are you treating for that you need to add salt? The dosage on the box won't hurt anything, I usually use a teaspoon per gallon when I'm treating for ich, with 30% daily water changes and the addition of the same dosage of salt for 3 days. You have to watch pretty carefully on that third day, and sometimes I'll do another 30% water change after a few hours on the third day to lower the salt levels, but it has done the trick for me in the past. I don't just add salt to my tanks for a regular maintenance level though. Only if there's a problem.

Barbie
IndefactorX
Location 1: Texas

Post by IndefactorX »

Silurus wrote:What do you want to use the salt for?
i bought it in the case that i may have to fight some ich, and also HITH on my oscar